EASA license skill test (LST) TMG in general

An EASA license skill test (LST) TMG for initial obtain of the class rating for touring motor-gliders - TMG is carried out after successfull completion of the approved flight training provided by the EASA flight school - approved training organization - ATO. An EASA flight school - ATO has to reccommend the applicant for the license skill test (LST). Practical flight test - the EASA TMG license skill test (LST) can be performed immediately after passing the approved EASA flight training. It is not necessary to pass the theory examination at the Aviation authority.

EASA license skill test (LST) TMG for initial obtain of class rating for touring motor-gliders - TMG is subject to the paragraph FCL.725(c) and Appendix No. 9 of Part-FCL, Regulation (EC) 1178/2011.

The candidate for license skill test (LST) for initial issue of class rating touring motor-gliders - TMG license skill test (LST) has to demonstrate ability to perform maneuvers, procedures on the aircraft category (in this case, the category of aircraft "aeroplanes") with competency appropriate to the privileges granted as an pilot in command (PIC) to the flight examiner - FE(A), or to the class rating examiner - CRE(A) . Thus, the operations for the class of aeroplane - touring motor-gliders - TMG.

The candidate for EASA license skill test (LST) for initial issue of class rating touring motor-gliders TMG shall have completed approved EASA flight training on the aeroplane of the same class or the same type as the one used for the license skill test (LST). In our case it is the touring motor-gliders - TMG of the same variant (eg, Let L-13SW Vivat, Stremme S-10), as was used for the EASA flight training, and on which the candidate has been trained on

The entire lenght of the examination -  EASA license skill test (LST) SEP(land) takes approximately 2 up to 3 hours total. The test flight (EASA license skill test (LST) TMG) itself (flight with the EASA flight examiner) takes approximately 1 hour  of the flight time. The rest of the time is used for the preparation of the check flight (route planning, briefing, debriefing and any oral theoretical knowledge examination).

The test flight itself - an EASA TMG license skill test (LST) shall include, the following items:

  • general handling of the aeroplane (normal procedures)
  • general handling of the aeroplane (abnormal and emergency procedures)
  • use of radio navigation aids (VOR, LOC, ILS, GNSS)

Route of the cross-country flight will be choosen by the flight examiner. The candidate is responsible for flight planning and he is also reponsible to ensure that all equippemnt and all documents, certificates and materials required for the flight are on board the aircraft during the examination flight.

Conditions for successful pass of the EASA TMG license skill test (LST)

General conditions for successful pass of the examination flight - EASA license skill test (LST) SEP(land) are more or less the same as for any other EASA license skill test (LST).

EASA license skill test (LST) for initial issue of the  touring motor-gliders - TMG is splitted into different sections - section of the air check, representing the different phases of flight at the appropriate category (aeroplanes) and specific class of the aeroplane - touring motor-gliders - TMG of the aeroplane used for the EASA license skill test (LST).

We provide an EASA license skill test (LST) for initial obtain of the touring motor-gliders class rating - TMG in the following EASA approved variants (types) of the aeroplanes within the class TMG:

  • Let L-13SW Vivat

EASA class rating TMG

Class rating on touring motor-gliders - TMG certifies the holder to fly on the touring motor-gliders with wheeled landing gear with a maximum take-off weight of 5,700kg. Validity of the EASA touring motor-gliders TMG class rating,  is in accordance with the Regulation 1178/2011 and paragraph FCL.740(a) 24 months (2 years).

Within the Europe the EASA TMG class rating allows holder to fly as an pilot in command (PIC) on the following variants of the touring motor-gliders aeroplanes:

  • Produces Let: Let L-13SW Vivat
  • Producer Stremme: Stremme S-10

EASA Differences training for other variants of the TMG

Class rating for touring motor-gliders - TMG allows the holder to fly on the specific variant (so-called as "the type") on which the EASA TMG license skill test (LST) has been successfully passed on.

To fly as an pilot in command (PIC) on the another variant (so-called "type") of the same class - in this case the single-engine piston (land) the additional EASA flight training is neccessary. This Approved EASA differences training. For example, if your skill test was performed on the Let L-13SW Vivat and you wish to fly on the Stremme S-10. In this case, the required additional training (differences training), so called. "Transition to another variant of the same class."

EASA differences training is always required unless the applicant on that variant flown for more than two years, as directed by the paragraph FCL.710(b) by Part-FCL Regulation (EC) 1178/2011.

The requirement above is just a legislation requirement required by the Regulation (EC) 1178/2011. Any owner of the airplane or the operator, respectively may have additional requirements, which may be required beyond the legislation requirements, to let you fly as a pilot in command (PIC) on the specific variant of the touring motor-gliders operated/owned.