EASA MEP(land) class rating revalidation license proficiency check (LPC) 

EASA revalidation license proficiency check (LPC) of the multi-engine piston class rating - MEP(land) is subject of the Regulation (EC) 1178/2011, Part FCL, Subpart H, Section 2, paragraph FCL.740.A(b). Part FCL does not allow the administrative revalidation license proficiency check (LPC) of the multi-engine piston aeroplanes - MEP(land) by the previous experience. Revalidation license proficiency check (LPC) of the multi-engine piston class rating - MEP(land) can be done only by the EASA revalidation license proficiency check (LPC) with the approved EASA flight examiner.

Revalidation license proficiency check (LPC)

The revalidation license proficiency check (LPC) of the class rating for multi-engine piston aeroplanes - MEP(land) can be done within the period of three months (90 days) preceding the expiry date of the multi-engine aeroplanes class rating. The EASA MEP(land) license proficiency check (LPC) flight with the flight examiner - FE(A) or the class rating examiner - CRI(A) has to be done in accordance with the Regulation 1178/2011, Part FCL, Appendix 9 on the variant of the aeroplane, which represents the class of multi-engine piston aeroplanes - MEP(land). The aeroplane used for EASA MEP(land) license proficiency check (LPC) flight has to be certified by EASA (holds the EASA TCDS (Type Certificate Data Sheet)).

The EASA proficiency check the revalidation license proficiency check (LPC) of the class rating multi-engine piston (land) can be performed by only  flight examiner FE(A), or an class rating examiner - CRE(A) for multi-engine piston MEP(land) class rating.

The period of validity

If the candidate successfully passes all of the EASA MEP(land) license proficiency check (LPC) items, the class rating for multi-engine piston aeroplanes - MEP(land) will be revalidated for the next 12 months (1 year). The validity period starts by the day of the EASA MEP(land) license proficiency check (LPC) and ends up by the last day of the month in which the EASA MEP(land) license proficiency check (LPC) has been done plus 12 months.

MEP(land) validity example

If the class rating for multi-engine piston aeroplanes - MEP(land) is until 31. January 2015 and the EASA MEP(land) license proficiency check (LPC) has been successfully passed at 01. November 2014, the multi-engine piston class rating - MEP(land) will be revalidated by the flight examiner until 31. January 2016.


Class rating on multi-engine piston aeroplanes - MEP(land) certifies the holder to fly on the multi-engine piston aeroplanes with wheeled landing gear with a maximum take-off weight of 5,700kg. Validity of the EASA multi-engine piston MEP(land) class rating,  is in accordance with the Regulation 1178/2011 and paragraph FCL.740(a) 12 months (1 year).

Within the Europe the EASA MEP(land) class rating allows holder to fly as an pilot in command(PIC) on the following variants of the multi-engine piston aeroplanes:

  • Producer LET company: Let L-200 Morava
  • Producer Diamond Aircraft Industries: Diamond DA-42 Twin Star
  • Producer Piper: Piper PA-34 Seneca, Piper PA-44 Seminole


Class rating for multi-engine piston aeroplanes - MEP(land) allows the holder to fly on the specific variant (so-called as "the type") on which the EASA MEP(land) skill test has been successfully passed on.

To fly as an pilot in command (PIC) on the another variant (so-called "type") of the same class - in this case the multi-engine piston (land) the additional EASA flight training is necessary. This Approved EASA differences training. For example, if your skill test was performed on the Diamond DA-42 Twin Star and you wish to fly on the Piper PA-34 Seneca. In this case, the required additional training (differences training), so called "Transition to another variant of the same class."

EASA differences training is always required unless the applicant on that variant flown for more than two years, as directed by the paragraph FCL.710(b) by Part-FCL Regulation (EC) 1178/2011.

The requirement above is just a legislation requirement required by the Regulation (EC) 1178/2011. Any owner of the airplane or the operator, respectively may have additional requirements, which may be required beyond the legislation requirements, to let you fly as a pilot in command (PIC) on the specific variant of the multi-engine aeroplane operated/owned.